Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Real Estate can be a very rewarding career and getting your Real Estate License opens many doors, including

  • Property ManagementHouse for Sale
  • Residential Sales
  • Commercial Sales & Leasing
  • Time Share Sales
  • Training
  • and more!

In Florida, there is a very defined path to obtaining your Florida real estate license:

  1. Complete a 63 hour pre-licensing class.  This can be done either in person or online.  In person classes can be taken as a one-week crash course or spread over several weeks. (4 year degree in Real Estate exempts) Our online price is $199
  2. Pass the end of class exam with a score of 70% or higher
  3. Submit fingerprints (approx $57.25, find a vendor HERE)
  4. Submit your license application (form RE-1) $105 (find it at www.MyFloridaLicense.com)
  5. Pass the State Exam with a score of 75 or higher (test fee $31.50 at PearsonVue)
  6. Note: you must be 18+ years of age and must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent

Once you have your license, you will want to find a Real Estate Brokerage to place your license with.  For your first 2 years in the business you will need to be under the supervision of a Broker.  After 2 years you can get your Broker’s license and you are free to open your own company if you choose.

Many brokerages are a member of the local Board of Realtors.  If they are a member you will be required to be a member as well.  The Board opens you up to training opportunities as well as access to the local Multiple Listing Service (MLS) where properties can be listed and searched.  Each Board sets their own membership dues, so check your local association for exact details.  Some dues/fees that may be required are: initiation/application fee, MLS participation dues, local board dues, FloridaRealtors dues, National Association of Realtors (NAR) dues, and electronic key lease fees. 

If you don’t know the name of your local association, just go to Google.com and search (your city) Realtors and it will usually come up in the first few results.

After you have your license, you are required to complete “Post-License” Education of 45 hours.  This can be done in a live classroom or online.  Our online course is $149.  A passing exam score is 75%. This has to be completed prior to your expiration date on your new license.

After your first renewal, you will need to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years.  3 of those hours must be in Core Law and the other 11 can be any specialty class you attend that qualifies for credits.  You also have the option of doing the entire 14 hours in a single online course.  Our online 14 hour CE class is $19.95.

Hope this helps give you an idea of what it takes to get and keep your real estate license!  You can also visit www.MyFloridaLicense.com for more info.